Enquire Now

Meet our Governors

Admissions_homepage Nottingham high school logo

Governors’ duties are to protect the assets of the school, to promote the achievement of its charitable objectives, and to ensure that it is diligently and well run. They are expected to exercise independent judgement with reasonable care and diligence.

They have to act fairly and in a manner that protects the reputation of the school. It is their duty to keep in mind the interests of pupils, staff and parents, as well as that of the community. Governors and Directors have a duty to declare any personal interest in any transaction or arrangement proposed by the school, to avoid conflicts of interest and not to accept benefits from interested third parties.
Governors of Nottingham High School are both directors of Nottingham High School Ltd, a company limited by guarantee, and Trustees of the Nottingham High School Charity.


Sir John Peace

The Lord-Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire

Sir John Peace is a former High Sheriff and was knighted for services to business and the voluntary sector in 2011. He is currently Chancellor of Nottingham Trent University since 2017 and Lord Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire since 2012. In 2023 he was appointed Commander of the Royal Victorian Order in the 2023 Birthday Honours for services as Lord Lieutenant. He was Chair of Standard Chartered plc, Burberry plc and founder and Chair of Experian. He was Chair of the Board of Governors of Nottingham Trent University for ten years and has been a trustee of the Djanogly City Academy in Nottingham since 1999. Sir John chairs the Nottingham Economic Resilience Forum, focusing on issues associated with the recession and local unemployment. He is the East Midlands ambassador for Business in the Community and is a keen advocate for maximising opportunities for young people. Sir John lives near Newark with his wife, Christine, and has three daughters.

Mr Steve Banks

Chair of Governors

Steve has lived in Nottingham for nearly 30 years and has seen his two sons benefit from all that a High School Education brings. He enjoyed a long career at Boots where his roles included Superintendent Pharmacist, IT Director and Director of HR, picking up an MBA at Nottingham University along the way. He is a Non-Executive Director at Sherwood Forest Healthcare Foundation Trust and chairs a small hearing care company that specialises in treatments for Tinnitus. He loves watching sport, especially Leicester City where he is a long-term season ticket holder. Travel and reading historical fact or fiction are two other passions that he can sometimes combine, enjoying trips even more if a stadium or vineyard are involved. Golf is definitely work in progress.

Richard Bonney
Mark Dillon
Stephen French
David Gandee
Jill Griffiths
Basheera Hanslo
Andrew Holman
Stephen Jackson
Richard Johal
Sharmini Krishanand
Philippa McNamara
Chris Prentice
Phil Renshaw
Chris Robinson
Gail Walton
Harriet Avison

Clerk to Governors